The Oral and Maxillofacial Department together with divisions of Anesthesiology and General Surgery is located in the premises of the Dental Hospital.

In retrospect, the disciplines of Oral surgery and Oral pathology were amalgamated to form the Dept of Oral Surgery and Oral Pathology in 1980. In 1990, these two divisions were separated which helped much in development of the two Departments.

With the Japanese grant aid in 1998, the Dept of Oral Surgery became much expanded with new infrastructure, modern equipment and training of staff which led to a significant improvement in teaching, research and treatment both quantitatively and qualitatively.

The International Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons (IAOMS) has recognized this Department as a Centre of Excellence and a training centre from the year 2002 taking in to account the quality of resources, human and materials available for training.

Considering the recent expansions taken place in the Department with regards to the scope of and clinical work and the improvement of facilities, manpower and infrastructure, the name of the Department was changed from Oral Surgery to Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery with the senate approval in May 2005 as it will help in gaining due recognition nationally and internationally to strengthen the services provided by the Department.

The Dept of OMFS conducts teaching (both undergraduate and post graduate), research (including collaborative activities) and patient care (service function of the Dental Hospital ) in the discipline of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery. Division of Anesthesiology and Division of General Surgery are also incorporated in to this Department.