The Council and the Senate form the conventional two-tier pattern of University organization. The Council is the chief executive body and the governing authority of the University. The Senate is the academic authority and makes recommendations to the Council regarding teaching, research, examinations and related matters of the University. Next in rank are the Faculty Boards of the Faculties at the University of Peradeniya. Each Faculty Board regulates matters pertaining to teaching, research and examinations in the respective Faculty, subject to control of the Senate.  

The Council of the University of Peradeniya is made up of the Vice-Chancellor (ex-officio chairperson), Deputy Vice-Chancellor, the Deans, two elected representatives of the Senate and thirteen laymen of distinction appointed by the UGC. The members of the Council are as follows:

Council Members

Prof. M.D Lamawansa – Vice-Chancellor

Prof. W.M.T. Madhujith – Deputy Vice-Chancellor

Prof. K.A.S.S. Kodithuwakku – Dean, Faculty of Agriculture

Prof. M.D.M.L.D.K. Yatawara – Dean, Faculty of Allied Health Sciences

Dr. E.M.P.C.S. Ekanayake – Dean, Faculty of Arts

Prof. Manjula Attygalla – Dean, Faculty of Dental Sciencess

Dr. U. I. Dissanayake – Dean, Faculty of Engineering

Prof. E. M. A. S. B. Ekanayake – Dean, Faculty of Management

Prof. M.V.G. Pinto– Dean, Faculty of Medicine

Prof. Sanath Rajapakse – Dean, Faculty of Science

Prof. P.G.A. Pushpakumara – Dean, Faculty of Veterinary Medicine & Animal Science

Prof. C. Wickramagamage (Senate Representative to the Council)- Department of English, Faculty of Arts

Prof. B.M.H.S.K. Banneheka (Senate Representative to the Council)- Department of Basic Sciences, Faculty of Dental Sciences

Members appointed by the UGC:

Mr. Samantha Ratwatte P.C

Mr. G. S. J. Dissanayke

Most Ven. Niyangoda Wijithasiri

Mr. Nihal Rupasinghe

Prof. K. Gunawardena

Mr. U. C. Kirindigoda

Mr. Prasanna Goonatilleke

Dr. Siril Wijesundara

Mr. Mahendra Wijepala

Mr Saliya Dharmawardhane (UGC Nominee)

Mr. J. C. Warnakula

Professor A. N. de S. Amaratunga

Dr. Sardha Hemapriya

Snr. Professor Lakshman Dissanayake