Commemoration of Dr. R.L.Wijayawardana

A commemoration ceremony,followed by a pirith enchanting was held on 11th of May 2018 atthe Department of Physics, Faculty of Science in remembrance of Dr. Ranjith L. Wijayawardana. The program was organized by the present and former academic and non-academic staff members, demonstrators, and present and past pupils of the Department.

Dr. Ranjith L.Wijayawardana was a senior lecturer in the Department of Physics who has done an immense service to the Faculty of Science, as a senior student councilor, a pioneer member and co-chair of the Faculty Course unit, and as a member in severalother committees during his 41 years of service. He has also served as the Chairman of the Atomic Energy Board Sri Lanka.

Prof. Parakrama Karunaratne (Acting Vice-chancellor), Prof.Saluka Kodithuwakku (Dean of the Faculty of Science), Dr. Varuni Seneviratne (Head of the Department of Physics), Prof. K. Premaratne and Dr. Shelton Perera delivered speeches in memory of late Dr. Wijayawardana. Thedemise of Dr. Ranjith L. Wijayawardana will be an irreplaceable expense to the Department of Physics and to the education sector. Mrs. Pramada Wijewardana and Mr. Vikum Wijewardana, the wife and son of late Dr. Wijewardena, were also present at the ceremony.