Undergraduate Research Symposium (FAuRS) 2016 staged on 16st December 2016

The Faculty of Agriculture pioneer to organize the Faculty of Agriculture Undergraduate Research Symposium (FAuRS) with the objective of providing an opportunity for the graduating students of three degree programmes of the Faculty to present their research findings to a public audience and share the outcomes with the stakeholders, specially the industry. It also could be a platform for them to be introduced to prospective employers and stakeholders to identify competent and budding graduates that would fit in well to the competitive world of challenges and opportunities.

FAuRS 2016 was successfully staged on 16th December 2016 with the participation of 450 undergraduates of the Faculty, invited guests and academic staff members of the Faculty of Agriculture. Mr. Rohan Pethiyagoda, Chairman, Sri Lanka Tea Board was the Chief Guest at the Inaugural session and delivered an inspirational speech on “ ”. The inaugural session was also graced by Prof. Upul B. Dissnayake, Vice Chancellor, Prof. Gamini Pushpakumara, Dean of the Faculty of Agriculture and Prof. Jeevika Weerahewa, the Coordinator of FAuRS- 2016. After the short video of research highlights of selected 28 oral and 28 poster presentations at the end of the Inaugural Session, four parallel technical sessions for oral presentations commenced under four thematic areas of (i) Agriculture Production and Product Development, (ii) Environment and Resource Management, (iii) Technical Interventions and Application in Agriculture, and Social, and (iv) Institutional and Economic Developments. The best oral and poster presenters from each technical and poster sessions were selected by a panel of eminent Judges where the recipients were presented with cash awards and certificates. The submissions made by students based on their final year research in the inventions and innovation competition evaluated by the Inventors Commission of Sri Lanka also were awarded with cash prize and certificates. The innovative research awards were sponsored by Mr. Manju Gunawardena. In addition, submissions made to Research Brief Competition (all three languages), Research Video Competion and Scientific Eye, Research Photography Competion were also evaluated by panel of judges and awarded with cash prize and certificates.

The overall best presenter among four technical sessions was selected and awarded the Alfred Baurs Memorial Gold Medal sponsored by the A Baur and Co. (Pvt.) Ltd. The Deputy Vice Chancellor of the University, Prof. Laxman Wijayaweera graced the closing ceremony as the Chief Guest and gave away the awards.