Wilfred P Jayasekara High Voltage Laboratory

On Friday 23rd of February 2019, High Voltage Laboratory of the Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering was named as Wilfred P Jayasekara High Voltage Laboratory after renovating and refurbishing in the presence of Professor Upul B. Dissanayake, Vice-Chancellor, University of Peradeniya.

Vidya Jyothi Professor K.K.Y.W. Perera, Chancellor of the University of Moratuwa was the Chief Guest of this occasion. As part of this project, An Electro Magnetic Compatibility (EMC) laboratory sized 8’ x 8’ x 8’ is newly fabricated as a closed metallic chamber to minimize electromagnetic interferences from surrounding. At the moment this laboratory is equipped with a 15-kV surge generator made by HAEFELY (Model PS 1500) which can be used for testing of power and communication equipment for lightning induced voltages. Further, Pollution & Environmental testing area which is a specially designed area to perform wet and pollution tests on external insulations according to IEC standards is also established. It consists of an artificial rain setup, a nozzle system to spray water and heaters to produce fog. This area will be mainly utilized for power frequency wet and pollutions test (clean fog and salt fog) on external insulations such as insulators.

This laboratory was originally established at the Ceylon Technical College after receiving the four-stage impulse generator and high voltage DC test set on September 1957. In September 1958, a high voltage ac test set was delivered to the newly established high voltage laboratory at Peradeniya. Most of these pieces of equipment survived for decades and helped the faculty staff to educate a large number of electrical engineers with the required skill and knowledge in the field of high voltage engineering. The ceremonially opened lab will be fit to serve “budding” engineers of the university and the industry for many more decades to come. Professor S.H.P.P Karunaratne/ Deputy-Vice-Chancellor, Professor Gamunu Herath/ Dean, Faculty of Engineering, Professor Saluka Kodithuwakku/ Dean, Faculty of Science, Professor. M.A.R.M. Fernando/ Head, Department of Electrical & Electronic Engineering, Professor Janaka Ekanayake/ Department of Electrical & Electronic Engineering, Registrar, other academic and non-academic staff members, and students were also witness of this memorable event.