President’s Awards for Scientific Publication
2017 November 06

By achieving the highest number of 62 awards out of 200 at the President’s Awards for Scientific Publication, University of Peradeniya shows its recurrent pride in the stream of Scientific Research Publication. University of Peradeniya has been home for hundreds of research and innovations over the decades in Sri Lanka and the quotidian increase and the advancement in the field is noteworthy. The acquisition of almost a one third of the total awards at the occasion is outstanding and the credit behind this triumph is the scholars of University of Peradeniya.

The selections and the awardees are based on all the Universities and the Research Institutions in Sri Lanka and being the holder of the highest number of awards is not effortless. The distinctive performance at the event was thus commendable.

The President’s Awards for Scientific Publication was held on 06 November 2017, at Taj Samudra Hotel, Colombo, graced by his Excellency the President of Sri Lanka. Lakshman Seneviratne, State Minister of Science Technology and Research, Mr. Udaya R Senevirathne, Ministry Secretary, Prof H Janaka de Silva, Chairman of the National Research Council and Manisha Rajapakse, Executive Secretary and the other relevant persons participated for the occasion.

President’s Awards for Scientific Publication was organized by the National Research Council and started in 2001 to recognize the Sri Lankan scientists with a Sri Lankan institutional affiliation whose work reached international standards, and to provide an incentive to increase national scientific productivity. This scheme further covers all the “hard science” journals (excluding the social sciences) and the awards system includes a measure of journal quality based on Impact Factor and the quantum of research published by a scientist.

This year, 200 scientists received awards for their Scientific Publications for the year 2015 and the awardees of the University of Peradeniya are as follows:

  • Abayagunawardana A. - Paediatric Nephrology
  • Athanayake, C.P. - Enviromental Soil Chemistry
  • Bandaranayake, P.C.G. - Molecular Biology Biochemisty & Genomics
  • Binduhewa, P.J. - Electrical & Electronic Engineering
  • Chandrajith, R. - Geology, Geochemistry
  • Chathuranga, U.- Pharmacy and Toxicology
  • Dassanayake, T.L. - Neurophysiology & Cognitive Neuroscience
  • de Silva, P. - Vector Biology and Animal Behavior
  • Dharmakeerthi, R.S. - Soil Science
  • Dharmapriya, P.L. - Geology
  • Dharmarathne, S.D. - Community Medicine
  • Dissanayaka, D.M.S.B. - Plant Science, Agronomy
  • Dissanayake, M.A.K.L. - Experimental Solid State Physics
  • Gawarammana, I. - Medicine
  • Gunatillake, C.V.S. - Tropical Forest Ecology
  • Gunatillake, I.A.U.N. - Microbial Genetics and Forest Biology
  • Gunawardhana, N. - Chemistry Materials Engineering
  • Hewawasam, T. - Geology, Geochemistry, Geomorphology, Physical Geography
  • Illeperuma, R.P. - Oral Pathology, Oral Center
  • Jayasinghe, R. - Oral Medicine and Radiology
  • Jayaweera, E.N. - Dye-Sensitized Solar Cells
  • Karunarathne, D.N. - Polysaccharides, Proteins, Delivery Vehicles
  • Karunarathne, V. - Chemistry
  • Kodithuwakku, S.P. - Reproductive Biology & Molecular Biology
  • Kottawatta, K.S.A. - Microbiologyical Food Safety
  • Kularathne, S.A.M - Tropical Medicine
  • Kumara, G.R.A. - Solar Cell, Nanotechnology, Semiconductor Material
  • Maduwage, K. - Medicine, Clinical Pharmacology
  • Maithripala, D.H.S. - Control Systems
  • Malaviarachchi, S.P.K. - Geology, Earth Science
  • Marambe, B. - Weed Science & Climate Change
  • Medagama, A.B. - Diabetes, General Medicine
  • Meegaskumbura, M. - Ecological and Evolution Genetics
  • Meegaskumbura, S. - Zoology
  • Mohomed, F. - Pharmacology, Toxicology, Clinical Pharmacy
  • Nanayakkara, N. - Civil Engineering
  • Navaratne, A. - Analytical Chemistry
  • Nissanka, S.P. - Crop Science
  • Palangasinghe, C. - Pharmacy, Management, Clinical Research
  • Perera, R. - Climate Change Modelling
  • Pitawala, H.M.T.G.A. - Geochemistry and Petrology
  • Priyantha, N. - Chemistry
  • Rajakaruna, R.S. - Parasitology
  • Rajapakse, R.M.G. - Chemistry
  • Ramachandra, S. - Animal Science
  • Ranasinghe, C.S.K. - Laser Spectroscopy
  • Senarathne, K.G.C. - Chemistry
  • Senevirathne.G. - Zoology
  • Shahmy, S. - Bio Statistics, Clinical Research, Pharmacology
  • Shihana, F. - Clinical Toxicology
  • Sivakanesan, R. - Biochemistry
  • Suraweera, H.A. - Electrical & Electronic Engineering
  • Suriyagoda, L.D.B. - Agronomy and Crop Modeling
  • Thalgahagoda, S. - Paediatrics
  • Thevanesam, V. - Medical Microbiology
  • Thilakaratne, W.M. - Oral Pathology
  • Udugala-Ganehenage, M.Y. - Inorganic Chemistry
  • Vidanarachchi, J.K. - Microbiology
  • Wanninayake, W.M.N.M.B. - Nanoscience and Nanaotechnology
  • Weerarathne, L.V.Y. - Agronomy, Eco Physiology and Crop Improvement
  • Weerasinghe, L.K. - Plant Science, Eco Physiology, Plantation Agriculture
  • Wickramasinghe, A. - Forest Ecology, Natural Resource Management